Quota available in Indian Railways

There are about 19 quota available from the Indian Railways. Below you will find the list of all quotas and their meaning.

S. No. Quota Description
1. GN General Quota
2. LD Ladies Quota
3. HO Head quarters/high official Quota
4. DF Defence Quota
5. PH Parliament house Quota
6. FT Foreign Tourist Quota
7. DP Duty Pass Quota
8. tq Tatkal Quota
9. PT Premium Tatkal Quota
10. SS Female(above 45 Year)/Senior Citizen/Travelling alone
11. HP Physically Handicapped Quota
12. RE Railway Employee Staff on Duty for the train
13. GNRS General Quota Road Side
14. OS Out Station
15. PQ Pooled Quota
16. RC(RAC) Reservation Against Cancellation
17. RS Road Side
18. YU Yuva
19. LB Lower Berth
RAC is a special provision to 'split' a berth into two seats. This is not exactly a quota but a predefined allocation to avail the above mentioned special provision.

  • Disclaimer: PNRTicket.com is not affliated with IRCTC in any way. Visiting this site confirms that you are accepting all terms and conditions.